Elsewhere – India

“Identity Crisis”

Slumdog Millionaire star Freida Pinto is taking drastic measures to prove she is Indian, by taking a DNA test.

Although she was born in Mumbai, the actress, who plays a Greek priestess in her forthcoming film Immortals, says her ethnicity is often questioned, “The Portuguese people love to claim me as one of their own, and I don’t like that,” she told Interview magazine.

“I come from Mangalore, which is the southern part of India, where you have a big Catholic population.  The British and Portuguese forced some of them into conversation. So I may not necessarily have that kind of lineage.  I could be a Hindu from India…. I’m going to do the DNA testing because I’m very curious.”

It’s a tough life for some…

Via The Stylist

Leave a Reply

