Grumpy Monday “Turn the page in 365 days”

A week has passed.  I’m 30 years old.  Do I feel any different?  Nope.   My knees still ache, my shoulders are still tight and I still can’t shift my grumpy tones from Mondays once and for all.

The latter will always be, but there are a few things that I’d like to change in the next 365 days.

Health:  When was the last time you felt physically and mentally fit?  I’m struggling to trace back…it could be as long as 15 years ago.  Drugs, alcohol, injuries and diet are the main contenders.   It’s time to get my body and mind back in gear.

Debt:  The so-called “man that has everything” can’t stop buying the things he really doesn’t need.  If I see something I like, it’ll be in my possession sooner, rather than later.  This is why I’m in X-amount of debt; it’s nothing I can’t manage, but the only debt I should be paying off at the age of 30, is my mortgage and student loan.  It’s time to think twice about how I spend my money.

Family and friends:  This year is about “face-to-facebook”.  By making that little bit of effort, I can be a better son, brother, uncle, cousin and let’s not forget, a better friend.  This means remembering people’s birthday, hooking up with people, writing to people, or just dropping them line from time to time.

Doing:  I don’t have a problem in doing.  I do a lot and that’s my problem.  There are too many personal projects that are “almost” finish, and there are many more that are waiting to see the light from my moleskin.  Multitasking isn’t a problem to me, but I’m starting to think it’s becoming a hindrance.  I want to try a different approach; a one to one with what I’m reading, seeing and eating – a much slower pace…and most importantly, I must learn to relax.

Then we have the smaller goals…

  1. Go to the cinema every Wednesday (thank you Orange).
  2. Come Dine with me parties.
  3. Get a tattoo.
  4. Pop the question.
  5. Get a dog.

There are more, but I’ll let you know what they are when I know.  But I think there’s more than enough to keep me going. This isn’t going to be easy, but I’m going to have a good crack at it.  Wish me luck and follow on.

But before this bitch is over, I’ll leave you with 30 life lessons that I’ve learned by the age 30.

  1. Don’t be aloof.  Call them twice a week – minimum.
  2. You can never have enough clothes, trainers or shoes.  Follow and tweak trends.
  3. Face-to-facebook is SO much better.  Invite them around or get off your arse and see them.
  4. Money can make you happy.  Just respect it.
  5. Donate your unwanted items to your younger family.  Hand-me-downs are so back in fashion.
  6. Document your life.  Film and take photos of everything.  One day your kids will thank you for showing them what the world was once like.
  7. Experiment with drugs and then end on a high and leave them alone.
  8. Alcohol was made for friends and family.  Drink irresponsibly once a full moon.
  9. Indulge in a little me time.  Get away from it all. Facials, massages…every once in a while.
  10. Don’t be afraid to take charge, no matter whom you’re against. Be heard.
  11. Jump out of your comfort zone – go on holiday on your own.
  12. Cook from scratch at least 5 times a week.  Experiment!
  13. Learn something new every month.
  14. Multi-task less and enjoy that certain something a lot more.
  15. Weed should be smoked when sober.
  16. Drink tea.  Lots and lots of tea.
  17. Flirt – but that’s all.
  18. Laugh every day like it’s your last.
  19. Treat the ones you love.  There doesn’t need to be a reason.
  20. Scare yourself, or someone.
  21. Have sex everyday, or masturbate if you’re alone.
  22. Keep your ears to the ground and eyes peeled.  Be the person in the know.
  23. Invent a product, write a sitcom, aim to be a star – you might just be.
  24. You can’t be good at everything, but there’s no harm in trying.
  25. Treat yourself and sleep in once a month. The rest of the time, get up and out before 9am.
  26. Change your wardrobe twice a year.
  27. It’s free and contagious.  Let’s start an epidemic.
  28. Some routine is good.  Others are bad.  Very bad.  Only you’ll know what.
  29. Read, write and draw everyday.
  30. The future is always brighter than the past

Oh, and let’s not forget…here are a couple of clips that have made this Monday less grumpy:

Women are weird

He can’t mix, but boy can he produce

You gotta love the freshies

Leave a Reply

