Sticky Business

Chewing gum, a tool for procrastination, stand by and watch the world go by with minty fresh breathe.  I remember as a child all those nasty stories that were flying around the playground, that IF you swallowed chewing gum, it would store in your belly forever; eventually killing you.

Ever since those days, I’ve never swallowed gum.  I also never stuck it under tables, chairs and so on.   I just spat it out.  Naughty I know, but I don’t want to die by gum.

This brings me on to these ‘Giant Chewing Gum Sculptures’ that have apparently appeared in Venice.  I say ‘apparently’ because there seems to be dispute whether they are real, or indeed fake.  Fake as in potato-shopped.

giantgum2

giantgum7

giantgum10

Either way I like them.  Imagine if they were real, would people think twice about spitting out their gum?

I’m not sure either.

Simone Decker is behind the gum; check out his other weird projects HERE.

2 comments on “Sticky Business

  1. kedar
    July 17, 2009 at 6:03 pm #

    the thing is, i get banksy’s installations – like the padlock on a chariot. but, this kind of stuff flies right past my head.

  2. bitchbag
    July 18, 2009 at 8:01 am #

    Banksy timed his art really well. The gum installation would be cool if there was a stronger thought or even brand association. Then again, maybe I’m just trying to shoe-horn something in when it’s not needed.

Leave a Reply

